Glass Sculptures Filled With Blood

That’s how I describe the prose of Megan Abbott, whose new novel, The End of Everything, I reviewed for January Magazine:

At one point in the novel, Lizzie asks, “Did it happen like this? I don’t know. But it’s how I remember it.” After finishing Abbott’s yarn, I found myself wondering that same thing. The mysteries lurking within The End of Everythingare never quite resolved; they continue to haunt the reader. Long after turning the last page, I still wonder about Lizzie’s motivations, her reliability as a narrator, because under those questions is a beating, bloody, forbidden heart. This is a book I’m turning over in my head, trying to figure it out. Believe me when I say that Abbott takes her latest book to some emotionally devastating places that conjure comparisons to Joyce Carol Oates instead of James Ellroy.

The full review is here. It’s really good. Check it out.

In conjunction with the release of The End of Everything, I interviewed Megan Abbott before she left for her worldwide book tour. Our conversation lasted nearly an hour, and we touched on a variety of topics. I’m a big fan of her work and think she’s one of the most exciting voices in fiction today, so it was pretty awesome to get to ask her about pretty much everything she’s ever written. The conversation was split up into two parts and ran on The Rap Sheet.

Part I covers The End of Everything and related topics.

Part II covers her process, her other novels, background, and short stories. 

Leave a Reply

