"My Name’s Wilson"

After twenty-four hours in New York that can charitably be described as “a disaster,” I’m back at work/home, in the middle of yet another move. After the jump, some random thoughts on a particular 1999 crime flick…

I watched The Limey today. I wound up thinking it was Steven Soderbergh’s best film; so much so to that I found myself looking for the DVD, soundtrack, and the poster shortly after finishing it. I really dug it, to say the least. But it’s one of those sun-drenched, stylized, effortlessly cool and dark L.A. neo-noirs I love so much, so it made the movie a pretty easy hit for me. One of the things that I liked the most about it was the way it incorporated clips from Terence Stamp’s film Poor Cow into the flashbacks and memories of the main character, yet the film is in no way intended to be a sequel to Poor Cow.

I find this relevant because of some of my own projects I’ve been working on, mainly, shit revolving around some of the characters in Redemption Falls. Obviously, the biggest fear I have as a filmmaker/writer is that I’ve only got so many good ideas and stories worth telling, and it is my intent not to return to the well a second time and third time and fourth time. Was not my intent. Because the further I get away from the project — it’ll be a year since we wrapped production in August; three years since I finished the first draft in November — the more I do realize that I still have stories I want to tell with some of these characters. Much of that has to do with the fact that the actors did a phenomenal job of suggesting ideas in discussing backstory and in their performances, and comes out of a desire to see them play these characters again. There’s one in particular I’d like to revisit in say, five years, then 10, then 20…something like a trilogy, although the one in five years will probably be the first time people hear of this character if it all works out, so it’d really have to be a quadrilogy.

This ties into The Limey and how it uses Poor Cow because both seem to be very different films, yet the flashbacks are incorporated effortlessly. I thought it was a great technique, and inspiring to me because one of the stories that I’d like to tell with some of these characters is radically different from the light and breezy Redemption Falls, more of a crime story like Limey than anything.

Damn. Now I want to see it again.

Leave a Reply

